CSC Racing Skipper Test

2013 - 2016 RRS

All CSC Sunday racing skippers must pass this racing rules test. This is an
open-book test. The test may be graded by a current racing skipper at the
clubhouse, or answers may be emailed to the dinghy race chairs (see link to
email address on the Racing page of the CSC website). A passing score is
32/40.

Unless otherwise indicated, assume the wind is coming directly from the top
of the page and that conditions are moderate. The rules of Appendices C and
D do not apply. All boats are racing unless otherwise stated. Do not forget to
read the “Definitions” section of the Rules for the precise meaning of any
term in italics.

From the Racing Rules of Sailing 2009-2012:
2 FAIR SAILING

A boat and her owner shall compete in compliance with recognized principles of

sportsmanship and fair play.
Main author and artist: Isaac Miller June, 2009
Reviewed by Gary Farber and Alistair Boettiger
Revised February, 2012 by Gary Farber and Cory Schillaci
Revised March, 2013 by Cory Schillaci



1-4. Are Red and Blue overlapped?
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5. There are 20 seconds left in the starting sequence at position 1, and
Orange is setting up to start. Must Orange give Green room around the
committee boat other than to avoid a collision?
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At the position 1, there are 30 seconds remaining before the starting signal.
Red tacks in front of Blue and established her new close hauled course at
position 2 with 10 seconds left. Red then alters course to avoid Blue, but Blue

is forced to lightly hit the committee boat as the starting signal sounds. Both
boats protest, but neither performs a penalty turn.

6.Which boat(s) should be disqualified: Red, Blue, both, or neither?



Orange hails “starboard” at position 1, but Blue believes she is crossing safely.
Neither boat alters course. Orange strikes Blue on her starboard side, chipping
some paint off Blue’ s gunwhale. Only Blue performs a penalty turn.

7.Which boat(s) should be disqualified: Blue, Orange, both, or neither?



Direction of rounding

Mark ‘
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8. Red and Green are approaching the windward mark. At position 2, Red
hails “tack now—sail your proper course.” Must Green tack?



9. Blue and Red are approaching the leeward mark. At position 3, Blue
protests Red. Did Red break a rule?



10. Red has sailed too far on her last tack and is coming in to the windward
mark on a reach. Blue tacks in the zone, forcing Red to point up until she is
close hauled. Blue rounds inside of Red. Has Blue fouled Red?
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Red, Blue, and Green are approaching the start line for a downwind start. The starting
signal sounds at position 4. There is a wooden dock to avoid.

Q

Limit mark

11. At position 2, Blue establishes overlap to leeward of Green. Green must point up to
avoid striking Blue and hails “protest.” Does Blue foul Green?

12. Does Green foul Red at position 4 by not immediately sailing her proper course after
the starting signal?



Course to
next mark

Four boats are sailing toward the leeward mark, but are not near it. The
proper course for all boats is toward the bottom of the page.

13. Can Red sail above her proper course at position 2?
14. How about at position 4?
15. At position 3, must Orange fall off to her proper course?
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For questions 17-20, Orange begins on starboard and tacks to port.

16-21. Which boat in each pair must keep clear? Question 21 refers to the red
and blue boats at the position marked 2.
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22. Both Green and Orange are sailing their proper course directly toward the next mark,
and Green slowly establishes overlap on Orange. Contact will occur if neither boat changes
their heading and Green continues to overtake Orange. Which statement most accurately

reflects Orange’ s obligation if Green does not alter course?

A. Orange must anticipate Green’ s overlap and begin keeping clear of her by pulling
in her boom or heading up even before overlap is established.

B. Orange need not respond until the overlap is established. As soon as there is
overlap, she needs to keep clear by heading up and/or pulling in her boom as necessary.

C. Orange need not do anything. Because Orange is sailing her proper course and
Green established overlap from clear astern, she does not have to give Green any room. If
Green touches Orange’ s boom, Green must take a penalty.



Blue is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, but leaves a large space
between herself and the mark. Green tries to squeeze in the open space, but
Blue turns sharply to almost head to wind, making gentle contact with Green.

23. Must Green, Blue, or both take a penalty?

24. Which boat or boats must take a penalty if Blue had turned only to her
close hauled course and still made gentle contact with Green?



Blue, Orange, Green, and Red are approaching the leeward mark. None can
agree whether overlaps were gained or lost just before they reached the zone.
Assume that the positions marked 1 are outside of the zone and that at the
positions marked 2 at least one boat of each pair is inside the zone.

25. Must Blue give Orange room?

26. Must Green give Red room?



Neither Blue nor Red can safely cross Orange’s bow. Assume that, if no boat
changes course, Red would strike Orange amidships.

27. Can Red hail Blue for room to tack?

28. If Red chooses to sail below Orange, must she give Blue room to do so as
well?



29. Can Blue sail above close hauled while in the zone to establish a position
that prevents Orange from tacking?
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30. Must Green give Blue room beyond just avoiding contact?

31. After hailing and receiving the response “You tack,” can Red sail another
boat length toward the shore before beginning her tack?



i
\

\
Finish line pin “ . ‘ Committee boat
7\
”
s
4

Orange strikes the pin mark when finishing, and performs a 360 degree
turn. Blue crosses the finish line with her bow pointed directly into the
wind, backs across the line without completely crossing it, then sails away
on a reach.

32. Did Orange finish?
33. Did Blue finish?



True of false?

34.You do not have to take a penalty if no one protests you for violating a
rule.

35. You must hail “protest” at or soon after an incident if you intend to
protest.

36. A boat racing can be an obstruction.
37. A boat racing can be a continuing obstruction.

38. A port tack boat must keep clear of an approaching starboard tack boat
that is clear astern of her.

39. A boat’ s proper course is a direct line from the boat to the next mark
she must round.

40. A boat that is head-to-wind is on neither port nor starboard tack.



